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August 23, 2016

Ruth Tietjen

Administrative Assistant ‘

Plant Industry Division = &
Nevada Department of Agriculture w5
405 South 21st Street o 2
Sparks, Nevada 89431 ol

Re: LCB File No. R147-16

SRR

Dear Ms. Tietjen:

A proposed regulation R147-16 of the State Board of Agriculture has been
examined pursuant to NRS 233B.063 and is returned in revised form.

We invite you to discuss with us any questions which you may have concerning
this review. Please make reference to our file number in all further correspondence
relating to this regulation.

Sincerely,

Jessica F. Dummer
Deputy Legislative Counsel

Brenda J. Erdoes
Legislative Counsel
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PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE
STATE BOARD OF AGRICULTURE
LCB File No. R147-16

August 23,2016

EXPLANATION — Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets [omitted-saterial] is material to be omitted.

AUTHORITY: §1, NRS 561.105 and 588.210; §2, NRS 588.210; §3, NRS 588.164 and 588.170.

A REGULATION relating to fees; deleting provisions which waive certain quarterly tonnage
fees for sales of commercial fertilizers and agricultural minerals; imposing a fee for
failure to pay the tonnage fees when due; increasing the tonnage fees for the sale,
distribution or offering for sale of commercial fertilizers and agricultural minerals;
increasing the fee for registering commercial fertilizers and agricultural minerals; and

providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Legislative Counsel’s Digest:
Existing law requires the registrant of each brand of commercial fertilizer or agricultural

minerals to pay certain fees to the State Department of Agriculture for each ton sold and to report
to the Department the total tonnage sold, unless the responsibility for reporting and payment has
been assigned to another person by contract. (NRS 588.210) Existing law and regulations require
that tonnage sales reports be made using forms prepared by the Department for that purpose.
(NRS 588.210; NAC 588.020) Existing law also requires that quarterly tonnage fees be paid to
the Department at a rate established by regulation of the State Board of Agriculture. (NRS
588.210) The regulations establishing the tonnage fee must specify the amount of the fee for
each ton of agricultural minerals that is sold in packages and the amount of the fee for each ton
of those minerals that is sold in bulk. (NRS 588.210) Under existing regulations, the fee for
quarterly sales or distribution of 20 tons or more of commercial fertilizers is 25 cents per ton.
The fee for quarterly sales or distribution of 20 tons or more of agricultural minerals sold in
packages is 25 cents per ton. The fee for quarterly sales or distribution of 100 tons or more of
agricultural minerals sold in bulk is 5 cents per ton. No fee is currently required for quarterly
sales or distribution of commercial fertilizer or agricultural minerals in quantities smaller than
the foregoing amounts. (NAC 588.025) Existing regulations also require a person applying for
the registration of a brand and grade of commercial fertilizer or agricultural mineral to pay a
registration fee of $60 for each combined registration of brand and grade. (NAC 588.035)
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Section 1 of this regulation removes duplicative provisions requiring that tonnage sales
reports be submitted on forms supplied by the Department and also removes a provision waiving
tonnage fees when the amount owed is $1 or less. Section 1 also imposes an additional fee which
must be paid to the Department if the tonnage fee is not paid within 15 days after the date that
the fee is due.

Section 2 of this regulation revises the quarterly fee for sales or distribution of
commercial fertilizers or agricultural minerals of 20 tons or more to 30 cents per ton, regardless
of whether the commercial fertilizers or agricultural minerals are sold in packages or in bulk.
Section 2 also provides that the fee for quarterly sales or distribution of commercial fertilizers or
agricultural minerals of less than 20 tons is $5 per quarter. Section 3 of this regulation raises the
fee for registering a brand and grade of commercial fertilizer or agricultural mineral to $80 for
each combined registration of brand and grade.

Section 1. NAC 588.020 is hereby amended to read as follows:
588.020 1. A tonnage report on sales of commercial fertilizers and agricultural minerals,
together with the tonnage fee, must be submitted quarterly on or before the 15th day of the

following month (15th day of April, July, October and January).

the tonnage fee required pursuant to subsection 1 is not submitted within 15 days after the

date on which the tonnage fee is due, the person responsible for paying the tonnage fee must
pay, in addition to the tonnage fee, a fee in the amount of 50 percent of the tonnage fee.

Sec. 2. NAC 588.025 is hereby amended to read as follows:

588.025 f} Except as otherwise provided in NRS 588.210 and 588.215 and NAC
588.030, a person who offers for sale, sells or distributes in this State commercial fertilizers or

agricultural minerals, or both, shall pay to the Department the following fees:
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fa)} 1. For quarterly sales or distribution of commercial fertilizers or agricultural minerals

of 20 tons or more, {25} whether sold in packages or in bulk, 30 cents per ton {;-and

For quarterly sales or distribution of commercial fertilizers or agricultural minerals of less

than 20 tons, whether sold in packages or in bulk, 35 per quarter.

Sec. 3. NACS 88.035 is hereby amended to read as follows:

588.035 An application for the registration of a brand and grade of commercial fertilizer or
agricultural mineral must be accompanied by a registration fee of {$60} $80 for each combined

registration of brand and grade.
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